Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Florida State’s success on the court in 2019-20 has also resulted in multiple honors as award season begins.

Leonard Hamilton has been named ACC coach of the year after leading FSU to a 26-5 mark as well as a 16-4 record. The Seminoles set a school record for ACC wins in a season and did so despite losing first- and second-round picks to the NBA as well as a cast of veteran players who graduated in May 2019.

Patrick Williams was named the ACC’s Sixth Man. The freshman forward averaged 9.2 points and 4.0 rebounds.

Senior guard Trent Forrest and sophomore guard Devin Vassell were each named to the All-ACC second team. Vassell led the team in scoring (12.7 points) and rebounding (5.1), while Forrest averaged 11.6 points, 4.4 rebounds, 4.0 assists and had 59 steals. Forrest was selected to the defensive team, while M.J. Walker (10.6 points per game) was named an honorable mention pick.

FSU is a rare team to win the ACC regular-season title and not have a first-team All-ACC pick. According to research by longtime ACC writer David Teel, it has only happened one other time in league history.

“It’s very unusual to find a bunch of players that believe in themselves,” Hamilton said. “They have a saying that we’re 18 strong, that we win games by committee. These guys truly believe that. They have bought into it. It’s a unique bunch and it’s a culture that we’re trying to develop. But we think that works for us.”

Hamilton quickly praised FSU’s assistants for the success of the team.

“Any time you win an award, you feel honored,” Hamilton said. “I have a great staff, Stan Jones, CY (Charlton Young), Steve Smith. Guys who have been with me, they’re loyal.”

2020 All-ACC Team
First Team
Vernon Carey Jr., Duke, 367
Jordan Nwora, Louisville, 359
John Mooney, Notre Dame, 351
Tre Jones, Duke, 348
Elijah Hughes, Syracuse, 305
Second Team
Mamadi Diakite, Virginia, 234
Devin Vassell, Florida State, 212
Garrison Brooks, North Carolina, 209
Trent Forrest, Florida State, 200
Markell Johnson, NC State, 101
Third Team
Kihei Clark, Virginia, 98
Jose Alvarado, Georgia Tech, 87
Aamir Simms, Clemson, 79
Cole Anthony, North Carolina, 69
Olivier Sarr, Wake Forest, 63
Honorable Mention
Landers Nolley II, Virginia Tech, 58
Michael Devoe, Georgia Tech, 48
Brandon Childress, Wake Forest 44
Chris Lykes, Miami, 32
M.J. Walker, Florida State, 22
Braxton Key, Virginia, 16
Dwayne Sutton, Louisville 15
Steffon Mitchell, Boston College, 11
ACC Player of the Year
Tre Jones, Duke, 34
Jordan Nwora, Louisville, 17
John Mooney, Notre Dame, 11
Elijah Hughes, Syracuse, 7
Trent Forrest, Florida State, 4
Mamadi Diakite, Virginia 2
Freshman of the Year
Vernon Carey Jr., Duke, 70
Landers Nolley II, Virginia Tech, 2
Cole Anthony, North Carolina, 2
Patrick Williams, Florida State, 1
All-Defensive Team
Tre Jones, Duke, 64
Mamadi Diakite, Virginia, 55
Trent Forrest, Florida State, 55
James Banks III, Georgia Tech, 34
Steffon Mitchell, Boston College, 30
All-Freshman Team
Vernon Carey Jr., Duke, 75
Cole Anthony, North Carolina, 55
Landers Nolley II, Virginia Tech, 54
Cassius Stanley, Duke, 36
Patrick Williams, Florida State, 29
Coach of the Year
Leonard Hamilton, Florida State, 62
Tony Bennett, Virginia, 12
Chris Mack, Louisville, 1
Defensive Player of the Year
Tre Jones, Duke, 45
Trent Forrest, Florida State, 18
Steffon Mitchell, Boston College, 8
Kihei Clark, Virginia, 3
Manny Bates, NC State, 1
Most Improved Player
Garrison Brooks, North Carolina, 17
Olivier Sarr, Wake Forest, 16
Devin Vassell, Florida State, 16
Buddy Boeheim, Syracuse, 10
Aamir Simms, Clemson, 6
Moses Wright, Georgia Tech, 6
Prentiss Hubb, Notre Dame, 2
DJ Funderburk, NC State, 1
Jay Huff, Virginia, 1
6th Man of the Year
Patrick Williams, Florida State, 35
Malik Williams, Louisville, 28
Dane Goodwin, Notre Dame, 9
Isaiah Wong, Miami, 3
Note: All-ACC Team points are determined on a 5-3-1 system (five points for first team, three points for second team, one point for third team).

This story originally appeared on Since 1982, the Osceola has been your trusted source for independent coverage of FSU athletics.